FireSpinner and all her Obsessions

knitting, spinning, obsessing…

Decisions, Traveling, and Everything May 10, 2008

Filed under: lists,school — firespinner526 @ 10:23 pm

I’d like to call this segment: Super Update!

So, I got home from a trip to Georgia and South Carolina on Tuesday.  It was really nice.  I had no idea how fun a spontaneous trip like that could be.  Or how stressful.  It was all scheduled in less than a week.  I had to work at 7:15 am on Friday, got out early at 12, Lynne drove me to the Logan Express (a shuttle bud that takes you to the Boston Airport) and I flew out around 2 pm.  My grandparents picked me up and I stayed with them for the long weekend.  On Saturday morning, my granddad and I woke up early and drove two hours north to Clemson, South Carolina.  The campus was beautiful.  I wish I had taken some pictures, but it was kind of rainy, so they wouldn’t have done it any justice.  Clemson is a gorgeous school though.  I pretty much fell in love.  Sunday we didn’t do much of anything.  In fact I was fighting a nasty cold and that was the worst day of it, so since I didn’t get any sleep the night before, I slept all day.  My Gramcraker was pretty sick so she was in bed all day too.  We’re a bunch on bumps on a log.  Monday all three of us drove to Savannah to see Armstrong Atlantic State.  We spent about 11 hours in the car all day to visit a school that I could tell that I would never like within the first five minutes of driving onto campus.  It was such a waste and there was so much traffic and so little time left in the day left that we couldn’t even explore Savannah.  So, we went home and woke up early again on Tuesday to go to the airport.  The end.

So, once Armstrong was out of the race, I came up with a pro/con list for the remaining two schools:

Clemson Pros:

  • In the south, where I want to relocate
  • Close to my grandparents
  • Fantastic education
  • Name power
  • The real college experience
  • Living on campus again

Clemson Cons:

  • Ridiculously expensive
  • Strict residency laws
  • No guaranteed housing
  • Very rural setting
  • Finding a part-time job will likely be difficult

Framingham Pros:

  • Wicked cheap
  • Close to home, so I can commute
  • No rent living at home
  • I already have a steady job that I can easily move to part-time in
  • Has a good Psych department
  • I can afford a new car

Framingham Cons:

  • Close to home
  • Living at home
  • I already have a steady job… that I hate
  • Snow

I’ve pretty much made my decision, but I’m not going to post it until its pretty much written in stone.  I kept going back and forth, but I think now I’m pretty sure now.  Ok, I have to go to sleep.  I’m very tired.

 

Leave a Reply

