FireSpinner and all her Obsessions

knitting, spinning, obsessing…

car-HATE! May 29, 2008

Filed under: lists,rambling — firespinner526 @ 10:22 pm

Seriously, why do all cars hate me?  I love cars.  In fact, I am a little bit of a car-fanatic.  I go to car shows, I read car reviews on the net, dammit, I can appreciate a good looking car (or even an ugly one if it has a good engine inside).  I like to work on cars, granted I’m usually just holding the flashlight for my dad but still! it’s something I like and it’s a rare thing that my dad and I enjoy doing together.  So, why the hell does every car I drive decide to fight with me. Let’s reflect:

  • Camellia, the chameleon.  Cammy for short.  My ’94 Dodge Intrepid.  At first, I didn’t like her, but I never look a free first car horse in the mouth and eventually she grew on me.  Then she decided to die on the highway on my way to work on Super Bowl Sunday.
  • La Prima Ballerina.  My ’92 Saab 90.  I looooved this car.  It was soooo cool.  It was older, but that’s ok.  I learned how to solder when  dad and I installed my cd player.  The hood popped to the front, so it looked pretty cool.  Also died on the highway on my way home from RWU.  She sat in the driveway for months while we tried to bring her back to life.
  • Tessie, the Jeep.  My ’95 Jeep Wrangler.  Love of my life.  I learned how to drive standard for her.  And she has made me cry more than any boy I ever dated.  She’s broken my heart more times than I can count.  Hell, since the beginning of this year alone I’ve spent $600 on a new starter and new exhaust.  Before that, she’s had other issues, like tires, batteries, spark plugs, oh and transmission.  Ugh, that was an expensive one.  Currently, she’s on a jack awaiting having her brakes replaced.  It’s proving to be very difficult because of all the rust.
  • Sammy, my parents’ Santa Fe.  Tonight, she got a screw in her tire.  So, dad was trying to plug it, but it wouldn’t work.  So, then we had to put the spare on.  Geez that was a lot of work!  At one point, the car fell off the jack.  Holy hell, that was scary.  That’s one of my biggest fears: the car rolling off the jack and pinning me underneath.  Fortunately we weren’t under it, but still…

Well, see… see why I get upset?!

 

Leave a Reply

