FireSpinner and all her Obsessions

knitting, spinning, obsessing…

Facebook needs some freaking warning labels September 20, 2008

Filed under: friends — firespinner526 @ 11:08 pm

I just found out some very sad news today via Facebook.  Also some very happy news.  I’ll start with that because I will probably start to ramble when I get to my sad news.

Some people hate websites like MySpace and Facebook.  I am not one of those people.  Well, yes and no.  I don’t particularly care for MySpace, but have an account anyway and check now and then.  I have much more respect for Facebook.  Granted, I don’t particularly care for the new layout and that it has become open to anyone, I do like the general idea behind it.  Facebook is a great place where we can find friends and reestablish lost relationships.  For somebody who moved across the country between middle school and high school, it can be especially helpful.  Ever since February 2004, when the Roger Williams network was brought into Facebook, I have been finding current friends from college and high school and much furthur back to my friends from when I lived in Florida.

Today I was playing around and checking on some of my elementary school friends.  I found out that Amanda, my best friend in Kindergarten got married this summer!  I am very happy for her.  She is a huge environmental activist and had a green wedding.  She and her wedding party bought second-hand dresses and encouraged the guests to do the same.  She asked for donations to charities instead of wedding gifts.  The meal was organic and vegan.  They didn’t go above and beyond with the decorations and what they did use was eco-friendly.  I looked at the pictures today and it was beautiful.  She was gorgeous and I wish them all the happiness in the world.

Now to my more sad news.  After a bit more clicking around, I came across some very sad wall postings on one of my old friends from elementary school.  I wasn’t great friends with Alicen, we were never in the same class, but I spent the night at her house a bunch of times because I was best friends with her twin sister, Ashley.  So, you can imagine my shock when I read “Sorry for the loss of your sister” posted to her multiple times.  With a little more clicking and googling I came across her obituary.  My dear friend Ashley died in early August from cancer.

I cannot stop crying.  Once I manage to stop, I think of her family, specifically her twin sister, and start up again.  I made the mistake of reading Alicen’s facebook page back to when it happened and what started me sobbing again was when she wrote “I miss Fred Weasley.”  I feel so bad for not reconnecting with her when I had the chance.

Ok, I’ve stopped crying now.  I guess I’ll go to sleep or something.

RIP Ashley.  You and your family are in my thoughts.

 

One Response to “Facebook needs some freaking warning labels”

  1. I’m so sorry about the loss of your friend. That had to be such a shock for you. 😦

    I’m on Facebook, too. If you want to be my friend, email me and I’ll help you find me.


Leave a Reply

