FireSpinner and all her Obsessions

knitting, spinning, obsessing…

back to school, back to life September 8, 2009

Filed under: rambling,school — firespinner526 @ 11:42 pm

So, life has been crazy.  In order to fix this, I upped and moved.  Seriously.  I had to get away from The Drama(tm).  I made some serious changes.  The largest of which is going back to school.  And not just taking a couple of classes while still working at the credit union and living at home, but moving across the state to School #4 (Mass College of Liberal Arts) as a full-time student and on-campus resident.  It’s a big and very scary change, but one I seriously needed to do.  I’m all moved in, met the roommates, who seem nice if a little cliquish.

dorm room 001

See the bedspread, it’s a duvet cover I made myself!

Yea.  I am now about five minutes from my bff Rachel too, which is a huge perk!  Other major changes include some serious therapy that has been life-changing.  I realized that I am soooo much stronger than I ever thought I was capable of being.  I’ve learned that as weak as I sometimes think it is, I am the victim of some serious shit and some crappy parenting.  I don’t have to be the care-taker and don’t have to fix everything.  It’s not my job.  My job is to be a young adult, discover and take care of myself, even though it feels a little selfish.

The other changes are a little superficial, but still pretty fun.  I’ve lost 20 pounds.  I put purple in my hair (which has already faded, but I’m gonna redo it soon).  I’ve left my job at the bank so now I’m in super-cute jeans (two sizes smaller than I used to wear, woot!), my nose ring is always in and my tattoos aren’t covered up.  I have a bit more free time than I’m used to, but that will probably change when classes start tomorrow.  I dunno, I’ve started just taking care of myself in general, a definite good thing.  Although, I really need to find a new part-time gig, my finds are running a bit low and I have bills to pay.  I made a contact at the LYS though.  The owner was a sweetheart and I asked if they needed any help and she took my number.  It’s a bit of a drive, but its a start.

Well, I guess that’s it.  I’m going to try to blog more often.  No promises, but I’ll try.

Oh, I’ve also learned that I am a steampunk-wannabe.

 

One Response to “back to school, back to life”

  1. Stitch-n-Snitch Says:

    Yay for you!! 🙂

    PS–I’m also a total Steampunk wannabe! 🙂


Leave a Reply

